My Living Wage petition has now closed with 1,272 signatures. A link to the government’s response will be published here when it appears.

I’m grateful to everyone who’s given their support. I’d like to think that a good number of you learned a little more at the same time about campaigns for a living wage (I’ve learned a hell of a lot !). This website has had 1,000 hits since it started a few months ago. I will continue to update it, but what it will look like in three years time I have no idea. This part is up to you. If new LW campaigns spring to life in other regions, and the numbers of activities – and victories – start to multiply, then the form and culture of this website could be radically reshaped.

Meanwhile, here are a few suggestions of things that you can do now :

Find out more about LW campaigns – their history, their aims, their methods of organisation.

If you live in London or another city with an active campaign, join it ! Become an organiser !

If there’s no active campaign near you, maybe it’s time to start one. Speak to other LW campaigners about what you can do, or drop me an email – I may be in contact with other people in your area.

Find out whether your trade union, political group, church or NGO has a policy on LW campaigns. Then discuss with LW campaigners about how the policy can be improved. A good policy would include a clear definition of what a living wage is, would pledge support to campaigns for a living wage, and would commit to working with other organisations to developing a set of common demands toward a national living wage.